Why I Will Never Lose Interest in Going Out to the Movies

Movie TheaterI overheard a conversation at work the other day. A customer was paying at the front register, and he was discussing with the cashier the high expense of going to the movie theater. They both agreed it was almost preferable to stay at home these days. I understand. Movies can be cost prohibitive. I do think there can be cheap options if you shop around and go to a less expensive theater, but films aren’t a cheap summer afternoon event anymore. I also enjoy watching DVDs in the comfort of my own living room and look forward to doing so many more times in the future (especially when my dream man cave – with a Tardis entrance and an inside packed with film, television, and comic book goodies – is completed).

But I love going out to the movies. I love the smell of popcorn when I enter. I love the hustle and bustle of people walking by and having a good time or the sounds of film trailers playing on wall mounted TV screens. I love exiting a cool theater and walking out onto hot cement, the sun beating down on me. Most of all, I love the experience of a group of total strangers gathering together and watching moving pictures in the dark. I love sharing laughs, cries, gasps, and exhales. I love going out to the movies because it’s a different experience than staying in and watching the same story on a 50 inch LCD television while I sit in my pjs eating leftovers. Neither are necessarily worse and neither are necessarily better. They’re just different. Both lovely in their own ways. No matter how expensive driving to my local theater, paying for tickets and refreshments, and driving home might get, I will always go back. I will always go back because I love theaters as much as I love film. I love film as much as I love good popcorn, which is a hell of a lot.

Now excuse me while my fiancee and I go see Guardians of the Galaxy.

Leave a Reply

