Oh, the Irony (Grand Hotel Edition)

Grand HotelFound this photo of a Grand Hotel (1932) premiere while looking for pictures for my upcoming video review (which is coming soon, by the way). Garbo and Crawford apparently didn’t get on very well during the film. Yet here, their names are placed right next to one another. Oh, the lovely irony.

On another note, I’m surprised John and Lionel Barrymore’s names are not higher on the marquee given their status at the time. But then again, what do I know.

(My text review of Grand Hotel, which I almost completely rewrote because I didn’t like it, can be found here.)

2 thoughts on “Oh, the Irony (Grand Hotel Edition)

  1. I’m surprised John and Lionel Barrymore’s names are not higher on the marquee given their status at the time.

    That was what surprised me, too, on looking at the photo.

    • It is quite odd. I suppose they did get the “and starring” credit, which can be just as good sometimes but would still think they would be place after Garbo. I think John at least comes after her in the actual movie. At least they fair better than poor Lewis Stone and Jean Hersholt (practically need a magnifying glass just to see their names).

Leave a Reply

