Ray Bolger: What a Great and Adorable Man

“Whenever asked whether he received any residuals from telecasts of the 1939 classic, Bolger would reply: ‘No, just immortality. I’ll settle for that.'” – Wikipedia.

While watching the 1961 version of Babes in Toyland with my wife last night, I briefly looked up Ray Bolger (who stars in Babes as the VERY over-the-top villain) on Wikipedia. I discovered a couple new things: how his face was permanently lined by the Scarecrow makeup and the heartbreaking cartoon drawn in memory of him a couple days after his death (go to Wikipedia for the details on that). But the very best thing I stubbled upon was these Google photos of Bolger, Margaret Hamilton, and Jack Haley as the cutest people in their late-60s and early-70s that have probably ever lived. Enjoy.

1970

1970

1970

1970

1970

1970

1969

1969

And, finally, there’s this photo. I’m posting this one not because it’s cute but so I can give Bolger mad props for doing this move at age 75.

Bolger and Haley on April 9, 1979 (just two months before Haley's death) at the 51st annual Academy Awards.

Bolger and Haley on April 9, 1979 (just two months before Haley’s death) at the 51st annual Academy Awards.

He was surely talented, but, more importantly, Bolger seems like such a nice man, who had a lot of fun in life. Need to see if there are any good biographies about him. If you know of any or would like to share a picture of Bolger that you particularly like, please comment below. Tomorrow, when I have more time, I will also relate a brief Bolger story a friend of mine told me a few years ago. It involves my friend’s grandmother having a chance meeting with Bolger in, I think, the 80s.

2 thoughts on “Ray Bolger: What a Great and Adorable Man

Leave a Reply

