Travels Through the Time Vortex: The Daleks

The Doctor, Susan, and the DaleksThe Daleks

Season One

Story Two

Episodes: Seven Original Air Date: December 21, 1963 – February 1, 1964

Story: The Doctor (William Hartnell), Susan (Carole Ann Ford), Ian (William Russell), and Barbara (Jacqueline Hill) find themselves on the alien planet Skaro. It has been racked by a nuclear war between two warring races, the Daleks and the Thals. After exploring a strange city, the four quickly get captured by the Daleks. The four must ban together with the Thals if they hope to defeat the Daleks and leave Skaro. Continue reading

Travels Through the Time Vortex: An Unearthly Child

One of my pet peeves, something that frustrates me to no end, is when people don’t give “classic” Doctor Who (1963-1989, 1996) the proper chance. While not everyone does this, I’ve heard of cases where people will only watch one story or, even worse, one episode of one story and then deem the classic era isn’t for them. In my opinion, you can’t do that. Classic Who is filled with so many radically different interpretations of the Doctor – each with his own quite distinct era, feel, and pace – that you can’t judge 26 years of television by just a single serial. This point of view was formed when I began collecting Classic Doctor Who DVDs in an effort to further familiarize myself with the show’s pre-2005 era. After getting recommendations from fans and thinking about what stories I would want to see the most, I made up a list of three or so stories for each Doctor and have been sporadically watching them over the last couple years. Every now and then I will give you my thoughts on the stories I chose. Anyway, best to start at the beginning. Continue reading